IEC certification

Introduction to IEC Certification

The IEC standard, also known as the International Electrical Commission, is a worldwide standardization organization composed of various countries' electrical committees. Its purpose is to promote standardization in the field of electrical and electronic technology worldwide. The origin of the International Electrotechnical Commission was a resolution passed at an electrical conference held in St. Louis, United States in 1904. According to this resolution, IEC was established in 1906, which was the earliest standardized international organization in the world.

The Purpose of IEC

The purpose of IEC is to promote standardization and international cooperation in the fields of electrification and electronic engineering through its members, such as conformity assessment based on standards, and cooperation in electrical, electronic, and related technologies.

Organizational structure of IEC

IEC currently has 60 member states. It is called the IEC National Committee. Each country can only have one institution as its member. The members of IEC are divided into two categories: one is formal members, and only one institution in a country is admitted as an IEC member under the name of a national committee, actively participating in IEC activities, and having the right to vote. To become a member of IEC, the committee must declare that it is open to all government or non-governmental organizations interested in participating in IEC activities in the country. Another type of member is a collaborative member. Due to limited resources, it only participates in some activities. They can participate as observers in all IEC meetings, but have no voting rights. In addition, there is another type called pre collaborative members, which are members of the IEC Central Office or the IEC National Committee of a neighboring country who help establish a national committee. They can become collaborative members of the IEC within 5 years.

Introduction to the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)

The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) was officially established in London in October 1906. It is the earliest international standardization body established in the world. It is responsible for formulating international standards in the electrical and electronic fields.

In 1908, IEC held its first council meeting in London, passed its first charter, and elected the renowned physicist Lord Kelvin as its first chairman, with Charles as its secretary general. Now, IEC is one of the most authoritative international standardization bodies in the world, including 43 member countries: China, the United States, the United Kingdom, the Commonwealth of Independent States, France, Japan, Germany, Italy, Australia, Austria, Canada, Belgium, Sweden, Switzerland, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Hungary, Czech Republic, New Zealand, India, Egypt, Greece, Finland, Denmark, South Korea, South Africa, Israel North Korea, Brazil, Luxembourg, Bulgaria, Yugoslavia, Indonesia, Ireland, Pakistan, Portugal, Poland, Singapore, Malaysia, Romania, Türkiye and Thailand.

IEC has established 82 technical committees, 1 Radio Interference Special Committee (CISPR), 1 IEC/ISO Joint Technical Committee (JICI), 127 sub technical committees, and 700 working groups. Approximately 100000 experts in the fields of electrical and electronic engineering worldwide have been working for IEC for years without compensation, formulating and revising IEC international standards.

IEC standard classification

As of the end of 1990, IEC had released a total of approximately 2700 IEC standards. These standards are divided into the following 8 categories by profession; Class 1 (Basic Standards): Terminology, units of measurement and their letter symbols, graphical symbols, line end markings, standard voltage, current rating and frequency, insulation coordination, insulation structure, environmental testing, classification of environmental conditions, reliability and maintainability.

Class 2 (Raw Material Standards): Measurement methods for electrical properties of working fluids, insulating materials, metal materials, magnetic alloys and steels, and bare aluminum conductors for electrical instruments.

The third category (general safety, installation, and operation standards): electrical installations under harsh outdoor conditions in buildings and ships, electrical appliances in explosive gases, electrical equipment in industrial machinery, protection of enclosures, live working tools, lighting protection devices, and laser equipment.

The fourth category (measurement, control, and general testing standards): electrical energy measurement and load control equipment, electronic technology and basic electrical quantity measurement equipment, industrial process measurement and control, nuclear instruments, instrument transformers, high-voltage testing devices and technologies.

The fifth category (generation and utilization standards of electricity): rotating electrical machines, water turbines, steam turbines, power transformers, power electronics, power capacitors, primary batteries and battery packs, power relays, short circuit currents, solar photovoltaic systems, electrical traction equipment, welding, electric heating equipment, electric vehicles and trucks.

Category 6 (Power Transmission and Distribution Standards): Switchgear and control equipment, wires, low-voltage and high-voltage fuses, surge arresters, remote control of power systems, remote protection and communication equipment, and overhead lines.

Category 7 (Telecommunications and Electronic Components and Component Standards): Semiconductor devices and integrated circuits, printed circuits, capacitors and resistors, miniature fuses, electronic tubes, relays, fiber optics, cables, wires and waveguides, electromechanical components, piezoelectric components, magnetic components, and ferrite materials.

Class 8 (Telecommunications, Electronic Systems and Equipment, and Information Technology Standards): Safety of Radio Communications, Information Technology Equipment, Data Processing Equipment, and Office Machinery, Equipment for Audio and Video Systems, Medical Electrical Equipment, Digital Data Communications for Measurement and Control Systems, Remote Control and Teleprotection, Electromagnetic Compatibility, Measurement, Limitation, and Suppression of Radio Interference; Alarm system; Navigation instrument panel.

Pre:NoneNext:CB certifi
Related Recommend
Copyright ©2017 - 2022 Shenzhen Beide Technology Testing Co., Ltd. 1 Yue ICP Preparation No. 09063742-1 犀牛云提供云计算服务